Iconic “Cocktail” Sign
The Cove’s Neighborhood Pub
The iconic flashing neon sign that draws “Irish folks” of all backgrounds into the Tipperary Pub was installed in 1952 when the building in the Cove Shopping Center was built. The pub was originally the Famous Door Lounge, owned by Mr. and Mrs. Wok who ran a Chinese restaurant there and lived upstairs.
When the Woks sold the building to a gentleman known as Big Ron in 1975, he changed the name to the Tipperary Pub and operated it as a lounge and restaurant until 2003, when it was purchased by the current owners, Dick Maggiore and Danny O’Connor.
Big Ron, a former airborne ranger, was himself a character weighing in at 500 pounds.
Maggiore and O’Connor completely refurbished the sign – likely the last of its kind in Deerfield Beach – and it continues to attract customers to this venerable establishment located in the oldest building in The Cove.